Dominican Republic

In the Dominican Republic, the Representative Territorial Units (RTUs) selected were Duarte, Barahona and Distrito Nacional. The three RTUs face problems in terms of low level of inter-sectoral and inter-institutional coordination, despite that all levels of government have risk reduction plans but they act independently. Further, poor application of risk management regulations and limited budgets for the implementation of DRR plans were found to be the greatest challenge.

For more information about the RTUs and the national workshop in the Dominican Republic, please see the following links to the original reports in Spanish. You can also find the link to the country profile published in English and Spanish.

Representative Territorial Unit (RTU) selection in Spanish
National Workshop held in Santo Domingo in Spanish
Download the country profile in Spanish
Download the country profile in English